Haastrup honoured as the Face of Port Concession in Nigeria

Terminal operators condemn looting, burning of NPA headquarters by hoodlums

The Chairman, Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN), Princess (Dr) Vicky Haastrup, has been honoured by the Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN) as the Face of Port Concession in Nigeria. 

The award was presented by the Minister of Transportation, Mu’azu Sambo, to the representative of Princess Haastrup at MARAN’s 34th anniversary celebration in Lagos on Friday.  

The award, coming barely two months after Haastrup won award the Most Outstanding Maritime Woman of the Year at the Maritime and Offshore Award ceremony in September, is in recognition of her immense contribution to the success of Nigeria’s port concession programme and development of the maritime industry.

A hard working, passionate, compassionate and pragmatic leader, Princess Haastrup also serves as the the Executive Vice Chairman/CEO of ENL Consortium, President of the Certified Institute of Shipping of Nigeria (CISN) and as a Trustee of some professional maritime women groups including the Women in Logistics and Transport (WILAT).

Having developed a rare knack for managing people and resources, Princess Haastrup has made remarkable impact in the seaport especially in terminal operation, among dockworkers, professional women in maritime groups, and in maritime education, among others. With the courage and boldness of a lioness, Princess Haastrup has successfully confronted the daunting task of running one of the most strategic terminals at the Lagos Port Complex Apapa in a male-dominated milieu.

For her success and achievements, she has been bestowed with several awards including the Maritime Woman of the Year Award for many years running. Just last year, she was nominated for the 2021 Lagos State Man of the Year award – the first and only woman in the history of the state to be so nominated.

Her company, ENL Consortium has also been recognised both at home and abroad as one of the best seaport terminal operating companies in the world. A few years ago, ENL Consortium made Nigeria proud on the global stage when it won the Port & Container Terminal Development Award in the prestigious Seatrade Awards held in Dubai, UAE. It was the first time any Nigerian company would win the Seatrade award. 

Widely reputed for her intellectualism, hard work, philanthropy and support for women and the downtrodden, Princess Vicky Haastrup is a rare breed among women. 

In her goodwill address at the MARAN 34th anniversary, Haastrup said she is always happy to associate with the maritime media who, in their own rights, are important component of the maritime industry. 
“One cannot but note with pride that MARAN, as the foremost maritime media association in Nigeria, has come of age. The association and its members have, over the years, discharged themselves equitably in upholding the constitutional right of the people to know, and in setting agenda for the industry,” Haastrup, who was represented at the event by the Spokesman of STOAN, Dr. Bolaji Akinola, said. 

Other award recipients at the MARAN 34th anniversary celebration include the Minister of Transportation, Mu’azu Sambo, the Director General, Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Bashir Sambo, President-General, Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria, Adewale Adeyanju, and APM Terminals Apapa, and among others.